Page 1 of 2

Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 17 May 2015, 16:18
by mbrST1100
Since my ISP kinda "threatened" me with a FOC upgrade(!) to a 50Mbit/s modem, I kinda had to obey... ;)

So now I've a Ubee EVW3226 staring at me with blue LEDs confirming up & downlink, lurking for some serious data traffic to happen...
The DIY installation and setup was quite smooth, first thing I kicked to OFF was the WLan (don't use/need such) and activated all firewall functions (which are quite basic anyway...)
Gave it a test (connecting a machine directly via DHCP), and that nasty thing provides a download rate up to 77MBit/s... 8-)

However, now I need to upgrade my TIER2 firewall accordingly... with it as bottleneck I'll get only 12MBit/s down at the machines...
Sufficient for normal surfing an emails, bit lame when it comes to serious downloads like Garmin or OSM map-updates...
So the trusty, reliable DrayTec Vigor2200e will have to go...

So I had a look at this little bugger here:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/DrayTek-Vigor-G ... Vigor+2120
Reasonable price, specs appear nice:
https://www.draytek.com/index.php?optio ... 58&lang=en
but I cannot find much on reviews in the critter...

Any smart dudes having opinions on the 2120?

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 18 May 2015, 18:14
by Pieter Huizinga
I ahappen to have a 2130n on the shelf that you can have for the cost of postage.

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 18 May 2015, 19:51
by mbrST1100
Appreciated, PM sent...

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 02 Nov 2017, 20:50
by mbrST1100
Well, with some regret I've to inform that the 2130n has passed away some time during the day...
Full lightshow (literally, all LEDs are ON...), no flickering, no revive due power reset/reboot (won't recognize the reset button either)...
RIP to the little DrayTek who'd kept my phone connected to the world and bravely streamed hours over hours of movies to my DVR...

Using the HUAWEI UMTS stick on my laptop to get in touch with the outside world, I ordered this critter:
https://www.amazon.de/DrayTek-2925Vn-Ro ... VJ75CEPYP5
... I just hope that I'll make it through the setup/installation procedures, those things are enigmas ... ;)

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 13:46
by alans1100
Doesn't your ISP supply you with a modem though we have to pay for it; then it's just like plug and play.

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 14:24
by mbrST1100
There is indeed an ISP supplied modem with gigabit LAN, even with WLan abilities...
But that thing doesn't feature any security whatsoever, nor would it support static IP...

... transmitted from a CAT S60 thing ...

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 03 Nov 2017, 17:51
by Pieter Huizinga
Oh dear, how sad. Good though that it served you well over two years.

BTW, the automatic setup of Draytek does a pretty good job, usually.

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2017, 04:04
by alans1100
mbrST1100 wrote:There is indeed an ISP supplied modem with gigabit LAN, even with WLan abilities...
But that thing doesn't feature any security whatsoever, nor would it support static IP...

... transmitted from a CAT S60 thing ...
At the moment my PC can see 8 other Wi-Fi modems around our house and unless I have their password I can't connect - a hacker with the right tools would be able to but at best a remote chance.

Some ISPs out here give a static IP address some don't - either way you still connect;

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2017, 08:23
by mbrST1100
4 PCs/Laptops, network printer, 2 TV devices and a smartphone... hence the (protected) intranet...
Over here DSL modems themselves​ (resp. their firmware) are the weak link, a breaching point ignored by clients... flatrate broadband is just too popular playground for nerds and hackers...
And smart TVs/DVRs running on Android or other OS are just new items on their target list...
ALYac was the very first thing I installed on my new Sony Bravia 4G... (couldn't find any other security software for Android TV's, open for suggestions there)
Strong passwords alone aren't sufficient...

A firewall doesn't provide 1000% security either, but its a lot more responsible then leaving an "open invitation" out there...
And who knows, an attack could be just the reason why the trusty DrayTek keeled over...

... transmitted from a CAT S60 thing ...

Re: Affortable GB firewall routers?

PostPosted: 04 Nov 2017, 14:24
by alans1100
We have two PCs and a printer plus two android phones usually connected through our modem (home network) - sometimes the laptop just to check for any updates and Tammie comes over daily and connects her tablet.

The TV is a 4K 3D and it's a hassle using it on the net. Looked at you tube a couple times but I usually just send music or video over from the PC and watch it on there.